The Future Clover

I’m a guest writer over at Name Your Tale, a great microfiction site where members of the public submit random titles (some more random than others!), and a great team of dedicated writers create 100 word stories for these titles.  You can read some of my 100 word stories here.

This latest title came to me as a poem.  A poem about people, and poetry.  As I recently blogged about my strap line, and settled on ‘It’s about People.  It’s about Poetry,’ I thought it might be nice to share this 100 word poem here too.

The Future Clover

We lay back to back beneath the cherry tree
Blossom falling around us
As you read poetry to me
From a book you stole from the school library
That afternoon, you found a four-leaf clover
You picked it, told me it was our future
I didn’t understand
I just laughed and kissed you
25 years later, you gave me a gift
I unwrapped it carefully
To reveal a battered old book of poems
As I turned the pages, a four leaf clover dropped in my lap
That’s our future, you laughed
I smiled and kissed you
I get it now.

One response to “The Future Clover

  1. This is lovely. Made me feel warm and happy. Thank you! x

Leave a Reply

