Puddles

It rained for a long time
Just over two years
Then, gradually, it stopped

The rain still comes, sometimes
I’m usually prepared
I see it coming

The puddles though
They appear out of nowhere
And their depth can still take me by surprise.

16 responses to “Puddles

  1. Wow, you’ve really conveyed a lot of emotion in a tiny amount of words. Hugs lovely xx

  2. I like this. Powerful and effective an. Can relate to it too.

  3. maddy@writingbubble

    This is just gorgeous. It gave me goosebumps the first time I read it, then I read it again and it made my eyes fill with tears. There’s something about your poetry that taps into something in me. Wow. Thanks so much for linking this to #whatImwriting

  4. Gosh, I love the metaphor Rachael. Totally resonates with me too. So much conveyed in so few words-my kind of poetry x

  5. Wow. That’s some very powerful writing. Brilliant poem. Thank you for sharing. xxx

  6. What beautiful prose. You have a gift, saying so much in so few lines x

  7. what a lovely poem, i hope you’re managing to keep the rain at bay. Popping over from Morgan’s ‘What I read’

  8. I love this, you’ve captured so much emotion in just a few words!

    Stopping by from Morgan’s ‘What I Read’

Leave a Reply

