End of the Noughties…

So, it’s the end of another year, and as the noughties come to a close and we head into double figures (what are we calling 2010 onwards, anyone? I’m still not quite sure how that’s going to work), I’ve been reflecting on the past year of my life and looking towards 2010 and what the New Year might bring.

I was planning to write a post about what I’ve been up to, and what might be happening next for me, and then I came across the Mayfly project. Every year since 2000, Meg Pickard has asked her readers to look back over the previous year, and then sum it up. In 24 words. Yep, just 24 words. So, rather than write a whole new post and possibly waste a lot of words, here are the 24 words I posted over on Meg’s blog:

Poetry. Family. Love. Overcoming challenges. Tying up loose ends. Reconnecting with old friends. Getting engaged. Blogging. Starting to believe anything’s possible. Moving towards ‘anything.’

Cutting everything down to 24 words really moves the focus to what’s important, and reading it back showed me how far I have come over the past year. If I can keep this focus into the New Year, who knows what I can achieve in 2010…? I don’t really make New Year’s resolutions, but if I had to sum up my attitude for next year in one statement, it would be this: ‘Keep on moving.’

How would you sum up your 2009..? If you can do it in 24 words, post those words over at the Mayfly project and link to it here. If you find that word count a bit restrictive, please feel free to comment here in as many of as few words as you’d like to use.

Finally, whatever you are doing tonight, I hope that your 2010 gets off to a great start, and wish all of you all the very best for the New Year!

Honest x

6 responses to “End of the Noughties…

  1. What progress you’ve made. 🙂

    24 words is a great idea. Will have to think mine over.

  2. Hiya,

    thanks for this interesting post and link. I wrote 24 words but too late to put it on the Mayfly Project site! So its here instead:

    http://juliettellewellyn.blogspot.com/2010/01/mayfly-project.html

    I like your ‘Starting to believe anythings possible’ 🙂

    • Hi Juliette, it’s good to hear from you again! Thanks for commenting, and linking back! Liked your 24 words too, especially ‘Living again.’ and ‘Walking through sea waves on bare skin,’ sounds like a good year! Hope 2010 brings you even more…

  3. 🙂 thanks Honest. It was a good year! Have a wonderful 2010 X

  4. Pingback: Happy New Year! « Honest Speaks

Leave a Reply

