Needle and Thread – a fresh take on creative writing

On Saturday, I went to a creative writing workshop. It’s been a long time since I spent this amount of time on my creative self, and it was much needed.

The workshop in question was ‘Needle and Thread,’ run by Ebele. I have known Ebele for some time now, having met several years ago on the open mic circuit, and cannot overstate what a warm, grounding prescence this woman is. Her mango-love filled hugs draw you in and melt away any insecurities you might have been feeling and replace them with an empowering self-love. Honestly. I am not exaggerating.

So, the workshop. Needle and Thread takes place at Kai Personal designs, in Stratford (London, UK), a lovely space where Tumaini creates beautifully crafted bespoke embriodered products. From cushions to bookmarks, Tumaini creates each piece with love.  We there to drink in this environment and weave its magic into our words.

Sometimes workshops can bring out my inner critic, but not this one. There is no room for perfectionism in Ebele’s world and she even has all participants pledge to leave any negativity at the door before we begin.

A wide range of women, from the amazing 10 year old girl who had a breathtaking way with words to women in their 40s whose words were heavy with experience, created such a wonderful energy that my four month-old baby (yes, I was allowed, encouraged even, to bring baby along!) napped for the first time in days. After the workshop, we each recieved individual bespoke bookmarks embroidered with three words we had chosen on it. My words? Golden. Embrace. Awake.

If you are based in London would like a fresh take on creative writing, I highly recommend spending your Saturday afternoon at one of Ebele’s nourishing Needle and Thread workshops.

Below are the pieces I wrote on the day, hope you enjoy:

Needle and Thread

Yellow, red, golden thread
A button rainbow and cowrie shells
Sunlight pouring in through an open window
Reminds me of holidays and revitalised, I fell
Into the soft embrace of creation
And, fuelled by mango juice, I write

My hunger sated
The energy these woman have created
Fills me up

The mirror reflects
Beauty, Strength, Love

I am relaxed
I am refreshed
I am awake
I am.

Quietly creating

Rhythmic
Hypnotic
Quietly creating
Lime green people – full, round, loving
A triangle suddenly seems to hold
A refreshing beauty

Usually I find white noise to be
A distraction
Today it lulls me, womb-like
Into a state of quiet wakefulness
And I re-create
Myself.

2 responses to “Needle and Thread – a fresh take on creative writing

  1. Thank you for coming to the workshop, sis. You, and all who came, made it the lovely warm creative afternoon that it was.

    A mango in your palm…

    Ebele.

Leave a Reply

