A really refreshing dream

I had a really vivid dream last night. I wouldn’t usually share my dreams here, after all they are often intensely personal. Writing this almost feels more like a journal entry…. But I guess it doesn’t hurt to get personal once in a while.

The dream, which, unusually for me, I remember in detail (but will describe in brief!) began with me standing on top of a very high wall – let’s say cliff height. It was a long drop. On one side, birds were eating each other on top of muddy water. On other, the water was clear and still but there were many dangerous obstacles in it. I looked down at the birds, then back to the obstacles and decided to take my chances. At least the water here was clear. I dived in and hoped for the best. After what seemed like no time at all, I reached the shore. I had arrived at a holiday resort on a tropical island. With wet clothes, now in rags, and no money on me, I walked confidently into the hotel, knowing someone would help me get to where I needed to be.

So, if this dream is so personal, why am I sharing it..? Well, although several dream dictionaries offer different interpretations, I think that, for me, this dream serves as a metaphor for life. I can sit on the wall for the rest of my life, or I can leave those birds eating each other behind and take the plunge into something new. There may be obstacles along the way, but if I can see them, I can do my best to avoid them. The jump is a leap of faith, and, though it is not without risks, I may end up somewhere beautiful.

I had very little sleep last night as the baby was up every two hours, but after this early morning dream I woke up feeling so refreshed, and more importantly, motivated. I wanted to share this little piece of me with you, to let you know where I’m at. Who knows, it may say something to you too…. If so, or if you have any alternative dream interpretations, I would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

