An award (for refusing to live in the real world)!

I am extremely flattered to have been nominated for this award, which is for literary and book-centred blogs and bloggers who read widely. I’m told that this award is usually given to writers who have published books but I’m assuming I’ve been nominated for other reasons! I was nominated by Jenny over at ‘Jenny the Wren.‘ Thanks Jenny!

After accepting this award, I have to list my five favourite books – explaining why they are my favourites – and nominate five other bloggers to receive this award.

I’m not very good at choosing favourites. You know that Quality Street advert that asks which one is your ‘favourite favourite?’ Well I still list five of those. And they’re just chocolates. These are books… So here are five top picks from a long list if ‘favourite favourites.’ All of these books link to amazon.com in case you want to find out more and add them to your wishlist!

Of Bees and Mist
Best described as a gothic fairytale for grown-ups, this book drew me into in its magical world from the first page and I could not put it down. Lent to me by a friend who ‘thought I might like it,’ it got me writing again after a dry spell. It had a huge influence on my writing at the time and I loved it so much my friend let me keep it (this does not happen often).

All my friends are superheroes
This book has been top of my ‘favourites’ list since I read it a couple of years ago. This novella is a beautiful little love story, which stays with you long after reading. Actually, I’ve called it a love story but it’s so much more than that. I re-read it often and get something new from it each time. Buy it, and see which ‘superhero’ you identify with. Then buy it for someone you love.

The Slap
I read this book while I was heavily pregnant with my son and it got me through several hospital visits, the early stages of labour and a further ten days in hospital after the birth. I’ve heard it’s since been made into a television  series but I’ve not seen it and I’m not sure I want to as I have such a strong visual representation of all the characters in my head. It’s the story of the reactions of a group of friends after one man slaps his friend’s child. As a new parent, it really made me think. If you’ve read this, tell me – whose side were you on?

The Book Thief
When I first heard that this book was narrated by ‘Death,’ I wasn’t so sure but I read the prologue and was immediately hooked. Who knew the Grim Reaper was so poetic? As with ‘Of Bees and Mist,’ I found the style of this book reflected in the poetry I wrote at the time.

The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Another simple little book that stays with you long after reading. A beautiful way of approaching the age of question of the meaning of life. Death, it turns out, is not the end. In fact, the book begins with the death of Eddie, whose story unfolds as you read and learn more about his life through the eyes of those he meets in heaven.

What’s your favourite favourite?

I would like to nominate the below bloggers (listed in no particular order) for this award. Please note that it’s not compulsory to accept! If you do accept, please post the award on your blog, list your five favourite books – including why they’re your favourites – and pass the award on.

Alice Fenner – I interviewed Alice back in 2010 as part of my ‘Ordinary People,’ series. Far from ordinary, Alice’s blog posts are beautifully written prose that make you rethink the way you look at the world.

Petra Kidd – Author of ‘The Eight of Swords‘ and its sequel, ‘The Putsi,’ Petra’s writing is so engaging I nearly missed my stop while reading on the tube! I urge you to download her books or at least pop by her blog.

Kellie Elmore – Author of ‘Magic in the Backyard,’ Kellie’s poetry paints a vivid picture of her past and is often somehow quietly reassuring. Kellie also hosts a great writing prompt, ‘Free Write Friday,’ on her blog.

Miriam Driori – Writer and Social Anxiety sufferer Miriam was also kind enough to take part in an Ordinary People interview. She writes with disarming honesty about living with Social Anxiety. She also writes about a wide range of other subjects, including everyday life in Israel. Miriam writes brilliant short stories, one of which you can read here.

Julia Skinner – founder of the 100WC project, I know Julia has been nominated for this award before but I couldn’t not nominate her! For services to child literacy and also for weekly inspiration via the 100WCGU challenge, providing the same opportunity to adults who still like to play with words.

There are many many more bloggers deserving of this award but as with the books, these are just five from my current list if favourite favourites!

11 responses to “An award (for refusing to live in the real world)!

  1. Congratulations! Enjoy your award.

  2. Thank you for nominating me, Rachael! I’m not sure I deserve all the praise you livished on me. I’ll have to consider my response. Five favourite books….

  3. oooh the slap sound like a read- might add to the list lol x

  4. Thanks for the “Like”

  5. congratulations for the award and for becoming a published author 🙂

  6. Thanks – but I’m not published yet (well, apart from a few poems in magazines and anthologies)! That’s why I was all the more surprised (and pleased!) to be nominated 🙂

  7. Thank you very much, and congratulations! x

Leave a Reply

