I dream of tangerines…

This poem is an old one, shared here especially for Maddy because I promised I would. (If you’re wondering Maddy, it was a while ago. Here, remember…?). This poem was written after a discussion about which orange fruit is the juiciest. It’s NOT a euphemism (the poem, or the conversation), honest.

Image source: freedigitalphotos.net

Image source: freedigitalphotos.net

I dream of tangerines

I dream of tangerines
Orange juicy fruit, sticky sweet
Tangerines…
I like the way the word sounds almost edible

I dream of tangerines
And clementines and mandarins
But tangerines are fatter, juicier…
Sweeter
At least they are in my tangerine dreams.

6 responses to “I dream of tangerines…

  1. maddy@writingbubble

    Love it! Although I can definitely see why people have thought it might be euphemistic… something about the juiciness! It’s also reminded me why I mentioned satsumas in my post – citrus fruit really is delicious. Thanks for posting this – I’m off to raid the fruit bowl!

    • Haha! It was discussing the difference between the orange fruits with my son when we were eating clementines that reminded me to post this! He still just calls them all oranges.

  2. Love this! Makes me want to eat one of your dreamy tangerines.

  3. Fabulous! I love the way it flows – and I am totally with you on tangerines 🙂 Thank you for linking to Prose for Thought 🙂

Leave a Reply

