Where do you write?

Most of my writing is done well before pen touches paper or fingers touch keypad. I write…

In the shower

While cooking

While running or swimming

Underwater. One of my favorite places to create.

As I fall asleep

As I wake up

While I sleep!

And that’s just the start of a very long list as more keeping popping into my head now as I type…

My point is; the crafting of any piece is writing is rarely done sitting at my desk. For the most part, by the time I actually sit down at my desk or open my notebook, the first draft is already written. The desk is where I edit – it’s where the work gets done.

Where do you write?

6 responses to “Where do you write?

  1. I’m the same… I write on my phone, tablet, notebooks, backs of envelopes you name it, and as you said the real work is in the editing when you’re sat stationary with no place else to be 🙂

  2. In the shower – why do the very best ideas come when it is impossible to write them down??

    • I know! I keep repeating lines to myself while swimming in a bid to remember them… I do lose some but the good ones seem to find their way back in the end…

  3. I love this, it’s very true for me except the swimming part though I’d like it to be 🙂

    • Haha! I actually went swimming this morning and had so many ideas that I’m just having to write them all now and decide which ones to focus on…. But I have found that some sort of exercise seems to be quite popular for inspiration for many writers – certainly the desk tends to be way down on the list of places inspiration strikes!

Leave a Reply

