100 word humour

I’m going back in time a bit today…

Back in 2009, there was a microfiction website that was getting a lot of coverage… It was called Name Your Tale (the website is no longer active) and the concept was simple: People would submit random titles (the stranger the better) and a group of writers would create 100 word stories to fit those titles.

I was one of those writers. I loved the challenge of creating the short stories to fit the crazy titles and found that although my usual response to writing prompts is pretty deep/serious, when under pressure I can actually be a bit funny. Sometimes. Recently I was looking through some of my old work for a particular story and found my submissions to Name Your Tale. I had forgotten all about them and enjoyed reading them again so thought I’d share some of them here. Hope you enjoy!

Roll the Dice

“Your turn…”
“A six… and a four!  Woo Hoo, I get Mars!”
“Wait, Mars is mine!”
“No, not any more it’s not!  Ha ha, you’re just left with Pluto now, and that’s not even a planet!”
“You’ve got it wrong…”
“No I haven’t, Pluto was reclassified as a dwarf planet by the people of Earth back in 2006.  Some of them were quite upset about it all. They are funny creatures, humans…”
“No, I mean you’ve got the co-ordinates wrong.  That’s not Mars…”
“Isn’t it?  Shit.  I really thought I’d won then.”
“Hold on… Yeah that’s right, it’s… Earth.”
“Oh.”

He’ll Always be a Coward

She sat with a thoughtful look on her face, her spoon hovered over the cream as it slowly melted into her hot chocolate.
He was still talking.
“So… um, I’m sorry, it’s just… well… this isn’t really going to work anymore…  it’s not you, it’s…”
She dipped her spoon into the cream, licked it slowly and looked at him, really looked at him for the first time in months.
“Yes, I agree”
“What?”
“I agree.  It’s not me, it’s you.  Now fuck off and stop bothering me.”
It was the third time that week he had tried to fire her.

You won’t get it, gerbil girl!

Ratwoman looked at her messages and sighed.  It was the undersized gerbil across the road asking whether she needed an ‘assistant.’ Again. Well yeah, would be the immediate answer.  She could do with someone to answer emails and keep her website and twitter stream up to date, but that’s not what Georgie was asking.  What she wanted was the position of ‘sidekick,’ a sexy little costume and the adoration of the public.  The thought of actually fighting any crime hadn’t even occurred to her. Ratwoman considered her response, then typed slowly, deliberately: @gerbilgirl – I told you, I work alone.

If you’d like to see the more serious stories, comment below and I’ll share them in my next post. If you’d like to challenge me, comment with random title and I’ll create a 100 word story, just for you. I can’t promise to be funny though. 

6 responses to “100 word humour

  1. Ooh yes, do please share some more. Random title: The Mystery of the Missing Door.

  2. All three made me smile and I’d love to see more!

  3. maddy@writingbubble

    Definitely share more! I liked them all but especially the second one. Also enjoyed the increasing randomness of the titles!

Leave a Reply

