What’s in your bubble?

Hello again.

Today, I’m thinking about bubbles. I think about bubbles quite a lot. You may have noticed… No? Take a look at my header image… Now, pop over to my website… See it now? It’s something of an obsession.

Wedding bubblesLike most kids, I loved making and watching bubbles as a child. I never grew out of this and it’s still my favourite activity to do with my three-year-old son. I even had bubbles (instead of confetti. Now there’s something I like less) at my wedding.

I love the way the word rolls around in my mouth and the way it sounds… To me, it’s an onomatopia. Listen: “Bubble.” See? Hear how light and spherical that sounds? So deep and watery yet light and hopeful? No? Just me? Ok then, I’ll stop.

Giant Bubble

Image Source: The Enchanted Tree

This isn’t just a simple love letter to bubbles. I wanted to share my personal bubble with you.

What??

Ok, I know that sounds weird, so let me show you. Come this way… That’s right… and step inside my bubble for a minute… It’s ok, it won’t pop.

My Bubble

Quiet isn’t it? It’s ok, I don’t live in here all the time. It’s just where I come when I need to rest, or get things done. Let me show you around. It won’t take long, it’s not too big…

See how the bubble has a green tinge to it? That’s my calm… It reconnects me with nature and helps me to focus. It gets greener when I’m writing and has a sort of citrus smell about it. Although it makes me feel more awake, at the same time it sort of helps time to slow down…

Then, when I need a confidence boost it changes again… A sort of deep red colour that seeps in at the bottom and works its way up one side… Yes, behind me like that, sort of pushing me gently forwards. It smells musky doesn’t it? Makes me feel powerful. Now, listen. Can you hear that voice? A gentle, woman’s voice saying ‘It’s ok. You can do this. I love you.’? Yeah. Reassuring, isn’t it? She’s always there when I need her.

Then, when I need to completely relax – to sleep, for example, it goes quiet again and these giant beanbags appear… See those red, pink and purple cushions over there? Almost womb-like, that corner, isn’t it? Smells a bit like vanilla ice cream… Just lie down there for a second… What’s that like? Comfortable, right? are you feeling sleepy yet…?

Hey, wake up! Ok, time to get out now…

What was that like for you? Did you feel focused, alert and then relaxed? Or something else? Those images, sounds and smells work for me. When I’m feeling anxious or tense, overwhelmed (happens often to me, you..?) or simply need a confidence boost, I step into this bubble for a little while to get back to myself. It wasn’t always this way. I used to shut myself into a cardboard box that was cramped and dark and would tell me I’m stupid and worthless. I still climb into it on occasion and have to remind myself to get out and try the bubble instead.

What about you? Do you have a bubble you can go to when need it? Or something else? Where do you go? What does it look like? How does it feel? What does it sound like? And is it helpful? If not, what could you change to make it better? Do share in the comments below, I’d love to hear from you!

6 responses to “What’s in your bubble?

  1. Ooh, I like this bubble. It feels safe and secure. Not like the one I wrote a poem about some time ago. That one could have burst at any moment.

  2. I was just feeling too lazy to look up how to do links. Here’s the poem.

  3. Love your bubble post, I could totally visualise being “in there”.
    Hope the cardboard box will disappear forever! 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

