Oranges, apples, bananas

I read an interview the other day. It was one of those ‘what do you usually eat?’ features, designed to encourage people to eat more healthily. The guy being interviewed scored a perfect 10. He was some sort of yoga teacher and clearly lived a life he loved – it wasn’t just his diet that was balanced (from what I could gather after reading one interview, that is) but his whole approach to life.

Photo credit: basketman at freedigitalphotos.net

Photo credit: basketman at freedigitalphotos.net

After reading his interview, to which I thought I wasn’t paying a great deal of attention, three words stuck in my head, ‘oranges, apples, bananas.’ It was simply him listing his preferred fruit intake but something about these words really stayed with me. What it the fact that these fruits were childhood staples? Because I liked the way the words sounded together? Or perhaps I was struck at how these simple words could sum up this perfectly balanced life…? I still don’t know. Sometimes words surprise me.

Oranges, apples, bananas…

What do these words mean to you?

4 responses to “Oranges, apples, bananas

  1. It’s interesting isn’t it, the way that those three fruits are always used to sum up life… Why not strawberries and kiwi fruit? Good food for thought – I mean “fruit” for thought ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Haha! That’s funny, I wasn’t aware of having seen or heard these fruits used to sum up life before… I was more struck by how he was simply describing his fruit intake and it stayed with me… But perhaps I have heard it in that context before, which could be why… Personally, I think life is like lychees – you have to peel back the layers to get to the sweetest fruit… Or something. Ask me tomorrow I’m sure I’ll say something different ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I know exactly what you mean-these three fruits together sums up simplicity maybe? I think yes, there’s that connection with children too. Saying them together does make me think of happiness and simplicity-maybe I think of a banana as a smile or when my son calls it the Banana phone. Or maybe it’s because they are simple, bright and natural colours x

Leave a Reply

