Rain

I am linking up to two writing challenges this week, one new and one old one I haven’t joined for a while!

I’m joining in The Theme Game from Redpeffer for the second week (ahead of the deadline this time!).

Redpeffer The Theme Game

I’m also back in the game with the 100WCGU over at Julia’s Place. To find out more about 100WCGU and read the other entries from this week, click on the image at the end of this post.

This week’s theme is Water  and the 100WCGU prompt is …tea, coffee, hot chocolate or… so the total number of words allowed is 105.

Rain

It’s raining again.

Water drops

Image credit: Kangshutters @ FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I had been trying to get some work done but the rhythmic drumming slowed my racing thoughts and I found myself staring out of the window. After a while the intensity lessened but the music played on in my head as I watched they droplets make their way down the window pane. The streetlight caught the static drops, turning them into tiny stars.

“Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, or..?”

“What? I mean, pardon?”

“To drink, Mum? You ok? You were miles away…” She looked at my outstretched arm, frowning.

“I’m fine.” I smiled. Just trying to touch the stars.”

There’ll be puddles tomorrow.

100wcgu

10 responses to “Rain

  1. Nice piece! I haven’t tried that challenge for ages. Perhaps I should….

  2. Ooh, I like that. A lovely challenge and thank you for sharing with #TheThemeGame

  3. This is a beautiful piece. Rain can be so captivating, and almost hypnotic. Thanks for joining in with #TheThemeGame

  4. Nice job incorporating both prompts! Great writing 🙂

  5. Liked the idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

