No promises, no resolutions

Happy New Year.

I say this without exclamation marks because while I am optimistic about 2014, I’ve decided not to get too excited this early in the year. Over the past few days, I have been reading a lot of blog posts with people’s resolutions for the year ahead. Some are promises to others, some to themselves (so resolutions then, the same thing, no?) and some have been big new challenges and some smaller – but still no less challenging. I started to think about the resolutions I wanted to make for myself and then yesterday, an email popped up in my inbox. It was from Future Me. For a few years now, I’ve been sending myself an email from the previous year (most years, I forgot last year and missed it a lot) summing up the year gone by and what I’m looking forward to.

2012 had been a good year. It felt a bit rubbish at times, but I achieved a lot and had big plans for 2013. I even wrote about some of those plans here. 2013 did not turn out quite as I would have liked. That’s life, right? Yes, well. My biggest resolution for 2013 was to ‘Be more’ – to try and find more downtime. I gave more and did more just as I said I would but I forgot to take enough time for myself and towards the end of the year I was not in a good place. It was such a small goal – just to be kinder to myself basically, and I didn’t achieve it.

Don’t get me wrong, I did achieve a fair bit this year and there were plenty of ups along with the downs but the downs could have been avoided if I had been truer to myself, worried less about what other people might think and took a few more breaks! So, this year I am not making any resolutions. I would like be healthier. I would also like to write more poems this year but mostly, I would like to be kinder to myself.

I hope you’ve all enjoyed your holidays and are feeling good about the year ahead. Despite the downbeat tone of this post, I certainly am. For the first time in a long time, I’ve had a real rest over the Christmas break – I’ve mostly been offline and just spending time with friends and family. It’s amazing what that can do.

As we get into 2014 you might see more poetry here, you might not. I will still be blogging but when, what and how much? Well, no promises, no resolutions.

Anyone else having a resolution free New Year?

3 responses to “No promises, no resolutions

  1. It sounds as if “no resolutions” is the right path for you. I haven’t made any either but I’m not sure that’s good for me. I think I should decide what I need to do to make 2014 a year I’m happy with.

  2. I am glad you are deciding to be kinder to yourself – that’s a great way to live xx

Leave a Reply

