100WCGU #73 – The piano’s notes

I’m back! It’s been too long  since I did a 100WCGU entry but this week I was inspired by the 100WC entries and decided to give the same prompt a go myself.

The prompt this week was The notes from the piano. Here’s my effort (below):

The piano’s notes
The notes from the piano had become more aggressive. They started off sympathetic; ‘ Sadie, I know you miss Steve, I do too… Perhaps we can support each other?’ But lately they were downright threatening. After a particularly nasty note, I decided to confront it.

It looked the same, innocent and inanimate. I lifted the lid and started to play. Nothing. When I stood up, the piece Steve had been working on fell into my lap. The piano played and the music overwhelmed me. Each note made me start to believe I could one day be whole again. It was the first time I cried.

100wcgu

8 responses to “100WCGU #73 – The piano’s notes

  1. Very creative. I’d like to see you enlarge on this idea and do something with more like a couple thousand words.

  2. Very nice and soothing. Music can indeed be a comfort blanket and even a first aid kit for the soul. Good work

  3. Wow – a friendly, if haunted piano! Very original – I like it.

Leave a Reply

