Happy New Year!

Happy New Year everyone! I wish you all the best for 2013. If you’ve made any resolutions, good luck with them! I hope you achieve all you dream of.

I’ve just been looking back over the archives and found that I didn’t write a blog post this time last year. I do tend to hibernate in the winter months sometimes. However, looking back to 2010, I wrote this post, in which I summed up the year in 24 words. If you’re wondering why 24 words, pop back to my 2010 post to find out about Meg Pickard’s Mayfly project.

So, as I haven’t done this for two years, I’ve decided to give myself 50 words (yes, I gave myself an extra two) to sum up the past two years, and here it is:

Birth. Baby. Joy. Post-natal pre-eclampsia. Loss of identity. Becoming ‘Mummy.’ Love. So much love.  Sleepless nights. Breast, Bottles, nappies…. Returning to work. Returning to ‘me.’ Starting a ‘Mummy’ blog. Watching baby grow into a walking, talking little boy.  Wondering where the time went. Starting a novel. Writing. People. Poetry. Family. 

Wondering about the past two years but can’t  be bothered to trawl through the archives? Here you go…

2010:
Wedding. Malaysia. Marriage. Completing a poetry collection. Career shift towards writing and coaching. Morning sickness. Baby bump. Learning to drive (finally). Believing. Doing. Being.

2009:
Poetry. Family. Love. Overcoming challenges. Tying up loose ends. Reconnecting with old friends. Getting engaged. Blogging. Starting to believe anything’s possible. Moving towards ‘anything.’

As well as summing up the past two years, I have also been thinking about my future plans. As it’s pretty much more of the same I won’t list them here but I will be emailing myself today via Future me, so that this time next year I can look back at where I am now and see how much I achieved (if anything!). I forgot to do this last year I’ve missed having that comparison.

How about you? How would you sum up your year in 24* words? If you prefer not to look back, then what are your plans for the coming year (if you’re happy to share them)? Please leave a comment below as I’d love to hear from you!

Have a New Year cupcake with me!

*Oh go on then, have 50 if you need ’em 🙂 If you write a whole blog post be sure to post the link back here so that I can have a read!

7 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Happy new year to you too! I hope you may have a lot op joy, love and peace

    Sweet greetings, Summer

  2. Pingback: The year in a flash « An' de walls came tumblin' down

  3. Thanks for the idea, Rachael. I put my 24 words on my blog. Happy new year!

  4. Amanda Christie

    Great idea.. I shall put on my blog …you’ve inspired me x

Leave a Reply

