100WCGU Week #59 – The edge

 

When I was younger, I had a poster on my wall that said ‘If you’re not living on the edge you’re taking up too much space.’ It was a lie. It was a poster of who I wanted to be, not who I was. While those around me were experimenting with recreational drugs I was too scared even to try (I am glad of this, now). I never did a bungee jump, never even sky-dived. I’m not afraid of death, I just don’t want to take any chances. Here though, I feel safe. The universe holds me, and I breathe.

This week I gave myself a double challenge by attempting a free write version of the 100WCGU challenge. I wrote this in 15 minutes! Please bear this in mind when commenting 😉

Find out more about 100WCGU and read the other entries from this week by clicking on the link below.

21 responses to “100WCGU Week #59 – The edge

  1. That was lovely – so many risky things in the day to day world around us, but being on the edge of a sheer fall a place of safety and calm!

  2. This could have been written about me. Love your take on the challenge 😀

  3. I like the idea of a free writing 100 word challenge and yours works.

  4. Mine started out the same way. But after 15 minutes all I had was one mediocre sentence. I enjoyed yours. True story, no doubt!

    • I was surprised how quickly I finished it, it felt like much longer til I looked at the clock! It was 107 words when I stopped so I did do a little editing to get it down to 100… It’s mostly a true story although I’ve never sat so close to the edge of such a sheer drop – a strong wind could end it all! I do find peace in being up high and looking out at nature so I wanted to capture that.

  5. You are taking risks with your writing and that is great! You go girl 🙂

  6. Well…I would never have guessed that this was a fifteen minute, no revisions, piece. Congratulations!

  7. I love your confidence in posting a freewrite version of the challenge. Honesty comes through in it, whether the finished piece is part of a personal story or fiction.

  8. Great last sentence. Though I wouldn’t venture on that rock myself…

  9. I’ve only done this twice but have free written it both times too, I would over think the 100 words otherwise and just keep changing it. Loved yours.

  10. That was a well spent 15 minutes! I love the line “the universe holds me,” it feels so safe and cosy and lovely

  11. Mine was a fifteen minute free-write too!
    Loved yours – again, it could have been written about me too (except there is precisely no way you’d get me that close to the edge of that rock…ever!)

Leave a Reply

