I see

The below poem was inspired by this article about the discrimination faced by a visually impaired photographer in today’s London Metro, by Channel 4 reporter Ned Boulting. Following early comments on this piece, I would like to clarify that I am not the photographer Ned refers to, I am writing as if I am – trying to put myself in his shoes.

I see
I might be visually impaired, but I can see
I see enough to know that you’re laughing at me
That you don’t see beyond my disability

Without even looking at my portfolio you judge me too quickly
Having seen none of my work you’ve already dismissed me
I wouldn’t be here if I wasn’t good at what I do
I have as little time to waste as you do
I’m busy too

This week I’ve been capturing the spirit of the Paralympics
Recording our heroes in mid-action glory
I don’t just take a picture
I record images that tell the whole story

You only see
What you feel is missing in me

But who is it that sees more clearly?
Even when darkness cloaks the stadium
Leaving me almost blind
I still see your ignorance clearly
And yes, I do mind.

6 responses to “I see

  1. It is a sad truth of our society that we judge others that way. I just want to say YOU GO GIRL!! don’t let anyone stand in your way, disparage you, or walk on you . I don’t think that really happens to you to much though from what you write 🙂

  2. As one rock DJ always ended his show, “Don’t let anyone bring you down”. Your work will speak for you, not people’s ignorance.

    • Thanks for reading and commenting! Just to be clear, I wrote this poem as a tribute to a photographer that Ned Boulting wrote about. I’m not that photographer, I Jusy tried to put myself in his shoes based on the story I read.

  3. Wow. Powerful. I am glad you included the intro so I had a full understanding as I read the poem.

Leave a Reply

