100 WCGU Week #49 – Off to a sticky start

This week’s 100 word challenge for grown-ups (100WCGU) was to write a short story and include the sentence ‘Murray was just about to serve for the Championship when..’ making up 110 words altogether. Here’s my offering:

A sticky start
Murray was just about to serve for the Championship when he slipped on the greasy floor. ‘Damn it!’ he tried to regain his balance but it was too late. Around 30 chicken wings fell off the serving tray he’d been holding, and a large tub of barbeque sauce went flying along with them. At that moment, Daniel walked in. ‘Murray, you’re a great kid and I’m proud to call you my nephew. I promised your Dad I’d give you a job so I won’t fire you… But this is the last time you’ll be serving at my Monster Chicken Wing Eating Championships. Next year you’re on washing up duty. Sorry.’

If this is your first time here, and you’re wondering what 100 WCGU is all about, click on the image below for more information and to read other interpretations of this week’s prompt.

12 responses to “100 WCGU Week #49 – Off to a sticky start

  1. Oh I can so see that happening,great imagery and you made me laugh. Love it!

  2. Ha ha, I laughed too!

  3. And there was a moment of silence for those lost wings.
    I quite like this take on the prompt, as I can certainly relate to it. Well done!

  4. I think I am out of the loop on eating contests! I like the angle, though, and you wrote it well. 🙂 Thanks for the imagery.

  5. Maybe by next year he”ll have got the hang of carrying the tray 🙂

    Very realistic – well done.

  6. 🙂 I loved this. With tennis so much in the news at the time the prompt was set, it’s good to see someone write after looking at the prompt from a different direction.

  7. i was smiling reading it… good job.

Leave a Reply

