100WCGU Week #46 – In the dark recess of my mind

Here’s my entry for week #46. If you’ve just arrived on this page and are wondering what 100WCGU is all about, you might want to check out last week’s post, which explains a bit more.

This week’s prompt was the title above, which I have also used as the title of my poem. This time the text also had to be included in the entry, hence the italics in my entry below. For more details about this week’s prompt and to read other entries, click on the image and the bottom of this page.

In the dark recess of my mind

It’s where I keep the demons
That deep within me sleep
The embodiment of those thoughts
Of which most of us don’t speak

It’s where nightmares are made
With the fear from which I hide
It’s where repressed emotions lie in wait
Growing ever larger inside

It’s where I keep the anger
I should release more often than I do
It’s where I keep my shadow side
So I can pretend it’s not my truth

I don’t venture down here often
Because I know exactly what I’ll find
When I shine a light
In the dark recess of my mind

9 responses to “100WCGU Week #46 – In the dark recess of my mind

  1. So true. Great words to convey a lot of meaning.

  2. It sounds as if the dark recess needs to see light more often. Lovely poem!

  3. wow amazing poem! intense- well done 🙂

  4. Want to know what it is now 🙂

  5. This was great! I always admire people who can rhyme poetry and make it seem effortless not contrived.

Leave a Reply

