Free Write Friday – Twilight Tiger

This week’s Free Write Friday prompt is another visual – see below. As always, click on the link for details of this week’s challenge, and to read other writers’ interpretations of this prompt.

I venture out
Into the royal blue twilight
My favourite time of day
As it slowly turns to night

I don’t plan to go this far
But having made my way through moondrenched trees
I only top at a steam covered lake
When I feel his eyes on me

The monkeys and the crocodile seem afraid
And somehow in plain sight, all of us manage to hide
But this twilight tiger knows me in a way I can’t describe
He understands what lies beneath – the stuff inside from which I hide

I turn to away at first
Fear keeping my eyes cast down
But then I change my mind and face him
Meet his gaze and stand my ground

Somehow he then seems smaller
Less of a beast than he was at first
I myself feel stronger
This moonlit walk has quenched my thirst.

4 responses to “Free Write Friday – Twilight Tiger

  1. Nice poem! I also wrote for the #FWF and wanted to see the creativity of the other writers 🙂 I am going to follow this blog and connect with you on Twitter too!

  2. Wow. This is awesome. I love the whole thing but, this part… “But having made my way through moondrenched trees
    I only top at a steam covered lake
    When I feel his eyes on me”
    …that gave me goosebumps. Love when that happens!
    Thanks so much for writing for FWF again! Glad to have you back!!! xox

Leave a Reply

