Blogsplash – My Most Beautiful Thing

Today I’m taking part in the My Most Beautiful Thing Blogsplash to celebrate beautiful things – inspired by Fiona Robyn’s new novel, The Most Beautiful Thing. Bloggers from all over the world are taking part and writing or posting pictures of their most beautiful things today.* I have read the book, and it really is beautiful. Fiona writes about the most raw of human emotions with such compassion and understanding. But don’t take my word for it. Read what other people have to say.

My Most Beautiful Thing

This picture is of one of three beautiful memory books my Mums’ closest friend made for me, my brother and my sister after our Mum passed away. It contains around 30 letters, poems and loving messages to our Mum, and some to us. To know that these people loved our Mum so much, enough to write such heartfelt messages in her memory and that her friend loved her enough to make these beautiful books to gift to us… Well, that’s a beautiful thing.

When I signed up to take part, I was going to say that this memory book is my Most Beautiful Thing. But then I thought: what about my son, his crazy laughter, the gentle rise and fall of his chest as he sleeps..?  What about the Christmas card my sister sent me years ago, that I kept for the poem she’d written inside..? And the gift that Mr B made for me one year – that’s right, he made it. It’s still my favourite just for this very fact. What about the lovely message a friend left when I was going through a tough time, that I saved for months cause it made me smile…? I could go on and on. The more I thought about it, the more beautiful things came to mind. I enjoyed counting my blessings for all the beautiful things that I have but became really hard to pick just one thing to write about. Then I realised that there’s a theme that holds all these things together… Well, not exactly a theme, but definitely something Most Beautiful. It’s Love.

So, although at first glance it might seem like I cheated by writing about so many beautiful things, in the end there is only ever one. My Mum used to say that we’re here for each other – to love, and be loved. Life is basically all about Love. And for me, a blog post entitled ‘My Most Beautiful Thing’ couldn’t have been about anything else.

*If you’d like to read other blogs about beautiful things, head over to the list of blogsplashers to find out who else has taken part.

4 responses to “Blogsplash – My Most Beautiful Thing

  1. Oh, I do agree… love it the tie that binds!

Leave a Reply

