Sitting with sadness

I am sad about something. What it is, isn’t important. Well, it is important to me but you don’t need to know what it is.

It’s not a big thing, not really. It’s to do with the changing nature of human relationships, love and friendship… That probably makes it sound bigger than it is, but its not. Not really. But like I said, it’s important to me.

I only realised today that it matters so much. I have been telling myself to forget it, its a minor thing, in a year’s time it will not be important, its silly to be sad about it, etc… But the more I push it away, the heavier it lands the next time it comes to mind.

So today I just decided to sit with my sadness, to allow myself to be upset about this small thing, to shed a tear even. And you know what? I feel better. It’s still bothers me a little, but its a lighter, less cumbersome emotion to carry. Now I can say ‘this too shall pass,’ and really believe it.

I think I need let go of conventions around what I should or shouldn’t get emotional about more often than I do, and just allow myself to sit with the sadness for a while.

2 responses to “Sitting with sadness

  1. Its funny because I was reading my daily devotion last week and it was talking about our emotions: It basically realised that if you feel something it does not necessarily mean that it is true. Our feelings have very little to do with reality….for example “I feel like my husband don’t love me anymore, I feel like I can’t cope”
    Many a times our emotions get out of control and begin to dictate our decisons. In the mids of the roller-coaster ride of our emotions, we have to constantly bring our minds back to truth.
    However, the balance is that we are emotional beings and have been designed with the capacity to experience and express a variety of emotions.There is a time to laugh, a time to cry, to be angry, to be upset , to be happy to be sad….etc, its who we are. Our emotions should never be suppressed, however we should never be held in bondage by them.
    So dearest sister in law, if you need to shed a tear and cry, I say cry: for there is a season for everything in life. xx

    • Thanks Paulette. I think I only felt ‘sad’ in the end because I kept telling myself I shouldn’t, and Mr B said its not worth it. He is right. But still… Allowing it in helped it to pass more quickly in the end. I’ll tell you what it was when I see you – it really is a small thing about a friend but think you would understand my feeling sad about it for a short time.

Leave a Reply

