Defiant Daffodils

Hello dear readers, good to ‘see’ you again. I hope you enjoyed this week of small stones. I really enjoyed writing them, both as a kickstart to my creativity, and as an exercise in mindfulness.

As a result of this week, I notice I have some new readers… Welcome! Do grab a cup of tea and toasted teacake. Glad you could join us.

Good Friday

So, I promised something different at the weekend didn’t I? Well, I have decided to stick with poetry this week so have written a poem for you – this started as a small stone on the day I wrote ‘Roadworks,’ but I decided to be a bit cheeky with it.

If you were here last year, you may remember that I talked about the poem that sums up my spring…? Well, here’s my version of that poem, with apologies to Wordsworth.

Defiant Daffodils

I wandered with baby from Leyton to Stratford
Both of us lost in daytime dreams
When, distracted from my reverie
I saw a flash of yellow and green

Between the empty bottles of Diamond White and Holsten Pils
Grew some ghetto strength daffodils
Golden streaks of sun among last nights debris
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

4 responses to “Defiant Daffodils

  1. looooove the images floating in my mind. =) I see perfume bottles and silk 😉 I love when that happens! Beautiful piece!

  2. maddy@writingbubble

    Fantastic! even better than the original! And I do love this about daffodils – they can sprout up anywhere and make you smile! xx

Leave a Reply

