It’s the little things – A week of gratitude

Recently, a theme has been recurring for me – that of gratitude. After a rubbish couple of weeks when I had started to focus on the negatives, I recieved a lovely gratitude package from a new friend, Raeeka (@heartonsleevexx). Filled with so many lovely things, it really lifted my mood and re focused my energy back towards seeking the positives.

Later the same week, I read this post by Matt Madeiro. Both Matt and Raeeka reminded me of the power of seeking out that which I am grateful for on a daily basis. I do try to do this anyway, but actually writing it down seems to make it more powerful somehow.

So, last week, I spent at least five minutes every day meditating on gratitude and I would like to share the results with you….

Monday

That it threatened to rain when taking baby for a walk… But didn’t
A nice catch up call with my Nan
A dark chocolate kitkat

Tuesday

Four consecutive hours of sleep
An unexpected half hour to myself

Wednesday

A lovely email from a new friend
Baby giggling at the bear style snowsuit and licking the paws when dressed in it

Thursday

Baby smiling when I turned off ‘The wheels on the bus’ and put on Fela  (‘Water get no enemy’)
A beautiful sunset

Friday

Crumpets with proper butter
Realising the BabaSling is better for my back than the front carrier now that baby is bigger, and its easier to undo without waking baby up!

Saturday

The mini waterfall in our little local park – a lovely local green space
Got baby to nap for more than one sleep cycle – and had time to blog!
Cammomile tea and ten minutes’ silence

Sunday

Time to read my book
Sharing some chocolate (the sharing as much as the chocolate)
A good late night chat

It goes without saying that I am grateful every day for my nearest and dearest, to have them in my lives and that they are healthy and happy (as am I!), so I didn’t include these above.

I hope this post inspires you as Matt and Raeeka, among others, have, and continue to, inspire me.

If you would like to share what you are grateful for, please comment below. I would love to hear from you.

4 responses to “It’s the little things – A week of gratitude

  1. Hi Rachel, love it……it reminds me of a scipture in the bible which says: Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

    I am grateful for the sound of my children’s voices arguing each morning. Could you imagine a silent morning??

    I am grateful for the awesome beauty of creation…I love looking at the sky, the autumn leaves, mountains, the sea..etc, etc.

    I am grateful that as soon as my head hits the pillow, I am out in dreamland.

    Finally, I am grateful that Jesus would love me as I am, with all my flaws and imperfections.

    Keep up the writing…love it

  2. Rose Petals on Rock

    This is really a beautiful idea. I probably don’t belong on your lovely blog. I am a believer but I have problems due to my mum being bipolar and a rough childhood. I have a problem with anger and I swear a lot. 😦 But reading that was very uplifting and seeing how you were able to see the positive in such small things that we usually take for granted. Really nice. I will try to do that.

    • Hello you. Thanks for reading, liking and commenting on my blog. Everyone is welcome here. In fact, if you felt that you didn’t belong here then you are even more welcome. Lot’s of us have shitty pasts that affect they way we are as ‘grown-ups’ (I still don’t feel grown-up. My Nan – 82 – says she’s waiting for that to kick in too). We all deal with our ‘stuff’ in different ways.

      Anyway… Thanks for your comment! I can’t take full credit for the gratitude idea though, it was inspired by others at the time, although I do try to live more like this now, which helps! I’m glad you found it uplifting and hope that you have lots of little positive things to continue uplifting you.

Leave a Reply

