The missing months

Ok so I’ve decided to get (a bit) personal for this post…

You may have noticed I’ve been missing for a month and rather absent even before that – well the Mummy stuff caught up with me again and I realised I’ve been trying to too do much. This is something I’ve always been guilty of, back BB (before baby), Mr B was forever on at me to ‘just sit down and rest for heaven’s (I am paraphrasing here) sake!’ as I ran around trying to fit a million and one things into each evening/every weekend, until it would invariably catch up with me and I’d get sick – my body’s way of making me take a break I guess.

Well, a couple of weeks ago baby got sick. Then so did I. I used to complain I didn’t have time to get sick. Ha. Now I really don’t! Baby doesn’t understand why Mummy wants to play on the bed all day – after all, the little angel is better and wants to play play play in a variety of locations. I just about coped and I was only sick for a week.

It made me reassess my priorities again. I realise I had got sucked back into trying to get everything done. Despite not being back at work yet, I was still filling my day – trying to keep baby stimulated by going to every baby group going, trying to keep on top of housework/laundry etc; trying to write something every day, keeping up with friends, etc, etc… It’s only when I got sick that I realised I’ve been here before. And it’s not healthy.

So, hats off to all those Mummy bloggers out there, especially those holding down full time jobs as well, I just don’t know how you do it (actually, how do you do it? I’d be interested to know and might learn something)… I am going to keep blogging but I guess from now on, at least for the time being, I’m going to be rather deliciously (I hope) inconsistent. Do come back again to read my offerings, I’ll try to make it worth your while!

2 responses to “The missing months

  1. One thing I learned about babies is that while the first one takes up all of your time, the others don’t. They fall asleep more easily, eat faster, and leave you more time. I don’t know if it’s them or you (me), but that’s how it is. I used to think that if the baby was the only child, I would have lots of free time. But then, if the baby had been the only child, the baby would probably have been like the first one!

    • Hi Miriam,
      Thanks for reading, and commenting as always. Interesting point, of course I don’t know as I only have one but have been told the next one is usually easier (apart from one case where the second child is much more spirited than the laid back first one!)… Time will tell I guess, IF we have any more! It’s early days yet.

Leave a Reply

