What are your values?

Back in April, I wrote ‘My Strap Line,’ a blog post about branding inspired byAnn Hawkins. At the time, I had a few ‘straplines,’ and wanted to get this down to one, something simple and easy to remember, that would summarise who I am. I threw a few ideas around, and came up with ‘It’s about People. It’s about Poetry.’ You may have noticed that this has now evolved to become ‘Writing. People. Poetry’ – It’s short, it’s simple, and it sums who I am and what I do.

All good brands don’t just have straplines, they also have values. These could also be called the company’s personality traits; it’s who they are in their dealings with us, the customer.  Some of these we just know without being told. Let’s take Innocent drinks, for example. Innocent’s brand values, as described on their website, are:

Be natural
Be entrepreneurial
Be responsible
Be commercial
Be generous

These values come across in everything Innocent does, from sourcing natural sustainable ingredients for their products to their commitment to sharing their profits.

So, thinking of myself as a ‘brand’ then, what would my values be? Probably something like:

Honest (kind of a given, that one)
Creative
Warm
Open
Fun

I hope that these come across in my words and actions.

What are your core values?

2 responses to “What are your values?

  1. I’m delighted that my blog post inspired this Honest. In return you’ve inspired a friend who loves to write (and does it very well) but doesn’t believe anyone else would be interested.
    Your values show in what you do and say. You are truly ‘walking your talk’ and that is no mean achievement.

    • Thanks Ann! Thank you for the inspiration, and for your comments! I am so glad that your friend has found inspiration to keep writing – does this friend have a blog I can check out? I would love to read it if so!

Leave a Reply

