Back to life

So, I am back from my month off, refreshed and ready to dive back into life.

Well, I would like that to be the truth but it’s not, not really.  I have been back a good few days now, and have spent most of these days procrastinating.  I don’t go back to work until next week, having given myself these extra days on returning from my honeymoon to spend some time writing.  However, there is always something more pressing that needs doing.  Like the washing, or cleaning the bathroom, or going for another walk to ‘clear my head.’  Seriously, I appear to have lost my motivation.  Or is it really that simple?

My wedding day was perfect, and I had a wonderful honeymoon. For the first time in the five years we’ve been together, it was just my husband and I, spending some quality time together with no interruptions.  I was completely offline for a month.  No blog, no emails, no twitter, no facebook…  I even turned off my mobile phone.  I did write a little, but put no pressure on myself to do so and instead focused on the present moment, and enjoyed every minute.

So…  What’s my point?  Well, now that am back online, time seems to be disappearing with alarming speed.  I have a ‘to do’ list as long as my arm; stories and poems to write, a website to update, a collection to publish and other projects that I really must get started on.  And of course I also have friends and family to catch up with.  While I am looking forward to all this, at the same time I find myself suddenly wondering how I have managed to do it all around a full-time job and still keep my energy levels up.  Could I still be suffering from jet lag…? Or is this a sign I need to maybe slow down a little and re-think my priorities?

I am sure when I get back into the swing of things, I will see how I managed and start to enjoy all these aspects of my life as much as I did before, however, the question remains (for now), am I ‘back to life’ now that I am home and filling every spare minute, or was my month offline getting back to life?  Perhaps it’s finding the balance somewhere between the two.  As soon as I do that, I’ll be sure to let you know.

3 responses to “Back to life

  1. Really glad you’re back! Hope you find time for writing soon. Looking forward to buying your collection! x

  2. Pingback: Taking Time Off: Experiences with the Digital Sabbatical

Leave a Reply

