Hopscotch

I was talking with a friend recently, about childhood games and words we like.  Well, actually, she was talking about childhood games and I was talking about words I like.  We met somewhere in the middle, over hopscotch.

I couldn’t remember how to play hopscotch, and I’m not sure she could either.  Although she insisted it was easy, ‘You just throw the stone and hop,’ I was sure there was more to it than that, however, she insisted it really was that simple.  I guess if she’s right (I checked, she is*), then hopscotch would make a good metaphor for life – we just throw our stones and hope for the best.  Anyway, I digress.

So, I was talking about the word hopscotch, I like the sound of it.  To me, it kind of sounds just right  for what it describes.  The word itself conjures up images of childish games and carefree summers spent playing on the street with perhaps just some chalk and maybe a skipping rope.  Maybe it’s actually that ‘sk’ sounds that does it – skipping, scooters, skittles, skittish…  See what I mean?  It’s definitely a playful word and that’s what I like about it.

What playful words do you like, and why?

*kind of.  There is a little more to it, but not much…

Leave a Reply

