I carry poems

I have been over at Carry a Poem , reading about how people carry poems with them.  I especially like Katie’s post (from 5th February), the line: ‘And I am definitely okay with trying.’ has stayed with me.  If anyone knows who the poem by, please leave a comment and let me know!

The poem I carry with me, for so long now that I feel like I’ve always known it, is the first line of William Blake’s ‘Augeries of Innocence’ –

To see a world in a grain of sand,
And a heaven in a wild flower,
Hold infinity in the palm of your hand,
And eternity in an hour.

There’s just something so soothing about it, and it reminds me that no matter how insignificant things might appear to be, there is always more to be seen, if we look for it.

Thinking about carrying poems also made me think about how I carry mine; where do I carry my words in the gestation period before they are reborn as poetry?  Well, it’s a bit like this:

I carry poems

I carry poems with me
Many different ones each day
I keep them in my head and heart
And collect more along my way

My heart is always full to bursting
But there’ll always be more space
For the poetry I see daily
In all kinds of places and on so many faces

I add more poems as I see them
And I see them all the time
I take mental snapshots of moments
Wrap them in words to make them mine

I carry the man outside the supermarket with a sleeping bag over his head
I carry the words I’ve still to let go of, those that made me see red 
I carry his frown lines
I carry her smile
I carry his laughter
I carry your sense of style

I carry the words that lie beneath those that you use
I carry your pain
I carry my muse

I carry all this and more
All of the time
Then give birth to new poems
And hope you might carry mine.

5 responses to “I carry poems

  1. I love this. Your writing always makes me feel calm and peaceful. It makes me feel how you describe feeling when you read the lines from Blake. Looking forward to more. x

  2. Oh this one is just beautiful Rachael! I am glad you shared it to Twitter xx

Leave a Reply

