Word of the Year 2009

Dear Readers,

I’ve taken a bit of a break this month, as you may have noticed, taking some time to catch up with friends over the holiday season because for me, that’s what this time of year is all about. 

This season is about reconnecting with those I love, so when I read that the Oxford English Dictionary’s word of the year for 2009 was ‘unfriend,’ I was, well, disappointed.  Not by the fact that we have verbed a noun, that’s nothing new (‘google,’ anyone?), and doesn’t offend, but by the fact that 2009’s defining word is one that means cutting ties with friends (albeit online, on facebook, and perhaps only temporarily… but still).

So, I got to thinking about my friends, and what they are to me.  Friendships cannot be measured, and each relationship I have is different, but they are themes that apply to all of my friends.  I had started with a list (yes that’s right, I am a ‘list’ person. I have come to terms with this and you may see more lists here, in future) of what my friendships are not, e.g. My friends are not hateful, selfish, or likely to swim in my tears…  Then I thought, ‘Hold on, I’ve got this all wrong.’  So, here’s a list of what/who my friends are, which is much more rewarding to write:

My People:

Celebrate my successes

Commiserate my failures and continue to love me

Are interesting and interested in me

Are supportive

Have wide shoulders and endless tissues

Strong enough to hold me up when I stumble

Intuitive enough to have their arms out to catch me before I realise I’m about to fall

Know when I need them… And when I need to be alone

Inspire me

Reflect my light and brighten my dark

Love me

And so much more…

 

What’s your response to 2009’s word of the year?

4 responses to “Word of the Year 2009

  1. That term really makes me sad. Makes it really come to light how disposable people feel relationships are. Long term friendships have been ended with one click of a facebook delete button or by unfriending them. I appreciated your post because it shows how a person should determine friendships. Based on true qualities that help bind us together. If everyone did that maybe the word unfriend could eventually be unfriended by Oxford.

  2. Hi Toya,

    Thanks for passing through, and for your comment. It is sad, and I hope that next year we’ll be looking back at something more positive! However, I am happy to say it’s not a reflection of my year this year, in fact, for me this year has been quite a lot about reconnecting with friends I had drifted apart from, and making new ones! I hope 2010 brings more of the same, for all of us.

  3. Lovely post, looking forward to more of your lists and poetry in 2010. Alice x (p.s my word of the year is “ilk” just because I like the sound of it. Also, I like “elk”)

Leave a Reply

